020 - 25433486
About the institute, Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha, (MKSSS)
Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha, (MKSSS), Pune: – the 123-years-old parent body has been committed to “Empowerment of Women through Education”. The Institution works relentlessly towards educating the women and thereby making them self-reliant. The Samstha was established in 1896 by the great visionary and social worker Bharat Ratna Maharshi Dhondo Keshav Karve to provide shelter to destitute women.
The Founder of the Institution
Prof. D. K. Karve founded an Institution in a village called “Hingne” near Pune City. Earlier, the Institution was known as “Hingne Stree Shikshan Samstha”. Later, it was named as “Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha”.
Prof. Karve founded this Institution with the objectives of upliftment, emancipation and education of women who formed a major section of the socially downtrodden. Maharshi Karve dedicated his whole life for this humanitarian cause with great determination and courage. For his sacrifice and dedicated social work and his contribution to the noble cause he was awarded “Bharat Ratna” the highest National Civilian Award.
Establishment of the Institution
On 14th June, 1896, in the village ‘Hingne’ near Pune city, Maharshi Karve started a “Home for Widows”, along with a school for Widows, so that they become educated and self-reliant. The “Home for Widows” was then named as ‘Hingne Stree Shikshan Samstha’ and the school was named as ‘Mahilashram High School’.
Development of the Institution
Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha, Pune has branches all over Maharashtra in India and more than 26,000 girl students are learning in these institutions. Over the period of last 123 years, the Institution has grown like a banyan tree and at present it runs 62+ educational and other units under its umbrella. These units are located at Pune, Satara, Wai, Ratnagiri, Nagpur, Kamshet and Vasai. All these units are meant exclusively for girls or women. We also have hostel and medical facilities for students and working women and old age home for senior citizens.

The Institution offers education from Kindergarten, Pre-Primary, Primary, Secondary, Higher Secondary schools to Higher Education Colleges. At present the Institution runs higher education units like, Engineering, Architecture, Management, Nursing, Fashion Technology, Vocational Training Institute, Laser Technology & Applications, Jewelry Design, etc. All these units strive hard to develop women into truly performing citizens in today’s globalization era.
Managing Committee: - Elected Members (2016-2020)
Sr. No. Name & Address Designation
1. Smt.Smita Yashwant Ghaisas President
2. Shri Shashikant Sutar Vice-President
3. Dr. Kantilal H. Sancheti Vice-President
4. Shri Ajay G. Apte Vice-President
5. Shri Kanhaiyalal Navandhar Vice-President
6. Dr. Dhananjay Kelkar Vice-President
7. Shri Promoad Gorhe Chairman
8. Shri N.D.Patil, Vice-Chairman
9. Shri Jayant Inamdar
10. Smt. Mohana Kadam
11. Shri. Ajit Kuber
12. Dr. Dhananjay Kulkarni
13. Smt. Vidya Deshpande
14. Smt. Vidya Kulkarni
15. Shri Pramod Deshmukh
16. Shri Kiran Barate
17. Shri Anil Mankikar
18. Dr. P.V.S. Shastry Secretary
19. Shri Vilas Potdar Co-opted Members
20. Dr. Abhay Deshpande Co-opted Members
21. Shri Anil Mankikar Co-opted Members

Managing Committee
President and Vice-Presidents  (2021-2025)
Sr. No. Name & Address Designation
1 Smt.Smita Yashwant Ghaisas President
1 Shri Shashikant Sutar  Vice-President
2 Dr. Dhananjay Kelkar Vice-President
3 Shri. Sagar Dhole Patil Vice-President
4 Smt. Smita Kulkarni Vice-President
5 Shri. Kedar Shalgar Vice-President
1 Shri. Purushottam Lele Trustee
2 Shri. Rajendra Jog Trustee
3 Shri. Atul Nagaras Trustee
ELECTED MEMBERS  (2021-2025) 
1 Shri. Ravindra Deo Chairman
2 Smt. Vidya Kulkarni Vice-Chairman
3 Shri Jayant Inamdar  
4 Smt. Mohana Kadam  
5 Dr. Dhananjay Kulkarni  
6 Dr. Kishor Desarda  
7 Smt. Seema Kamble  
 8. Shri. Dattaji Thorat  
9 Shri. Kiran Barate  
10 Adv. Prabhakar Sonpatki  
1 Dr. P.V.S. Shastry Secretary
Life Workers
1 Dr. Madhuri Khambete  
2 Smt. Sheetal Dandavate  
3 Dr. Meena Ganapathy  
4 Smt. Swati Shende  
5 Smt. Kanchan Satapute  
6  Shri. Pradeep Joshi  
Co-opted Members
1 CA. Abhay Kulkarni  
 2. Smt. Savita Kajarekar  
 3. Adv. Sandeepak Phadake   
Employee Representatives
  Dr. Bharatbhushan Joshi                                                                                  
  Shri. Prasad Nagarkar  
  Dr. Ajit Bhosale  
Bhaskarrao Karve Adhyapak Vidyalay
Welcome to Bhaskarrao Karve Adhyapak Vidyalaya, Erandavane, Pune. Bhaskarrao Karve College is a dynamic institution with an unrivaled reputation in the pre-service training of elementary teachers. Established with the inspiration of Bhaskarrao Karve, the son of the great Maharshi Anna Karve, a Bharat Ratna award winner. The institution was founded on 16 July 1945 and has been imparting quality teacher education for the past 75 years.

Estd. Year : 16 July 1945
NCTE NO :112190
College Code : 2104
Contact Us
Address: - Bhaskarrao Karve Adhyapak Vidyalaya, Erandavane, Pune 4.
Contact No: - 020- 25433486
Email ID: -
© Bhaskarrao Karve Adhyapak Vidyalay, Pune. All rights reserved.